Vulnerabilities and Best Practices

After the second hack I quickly skimmed through the open source repositories of xToken, in particular, I reviewed the xsnx, xknc, xaave and xu3lp contracts.

This is not a thorough DD, I time-boxed this to a 30 minute review and 30’ to write this post. In case you are not familiar with me, I’ve been a software engineer for over 20 years, the past 10 years I’ve been leading engineering teams and building organizations’ operations and applying best practices under the requirements of companies for whom security was an existential threat. I’ve lead Information Security Management Systems implementations and got and held ISO27001 certifications for engineering organizations. tl;dr, I know what I am talking about.

I reviewed xsnx in regards to the particular second exploit, as explained by the post mortem. I will sum up my findings in two observations:

1. The offending code was created as a response to the first hack that occurred in May. A time when security awareness was at the highest degree at the xToken organization.
  2. The offending code was not, and remained untested.

I tried to run the tests of the xsnx contract on my local, following the README instructions, but was not able to. The contracts compiled, env variables set, but all tests broke due to a variable not set or a broken configuration. I don’t doubt that the project can be built and tested, what I am saying is that the instructions in the README where inadequate to perform that task.

Further skimming through the repositories and contracts, I observed that xknc and xaave didn’t even have README files and all attempts to build and test the projects on local failed as well.

xu3lp had a README, but the build and test results were similar to xsnx.

A couple more observations across all the repositories:

1. Uniformity lacked between the repositories, indicative that they were written in different times by different people.